Quirks mode revisited

Page: 1

Author Post
My wife and I have been using floatbox for since 2011 on our electronic medical record server. The programing was done in php by my wife, who no longer administers the server. The emr pages' code hasn't been touched since she initially wrote it. In the past year, I started getting the "Floatbox does not support quirks mode. Page needs to have a valid doctype declaration." alert when I saved entries on a page.

I have replaced the doctype declaration on the index and all pages using floatbox with the simplified html declaration, <!DOCTYPE html>, without any change observed. Since the pages are php pages, the doctype declaration is NOT the first line on the page. But that's been the case for years, and floatbox has not protested until recently.

Complicating this picture is the fact that this is not consistent. There are times when my notes are recorded just fine. The only variable I can detect is whether or not something like an apostrophe is used in my notes.

Something has changed, and it's not our code. The code has worked in it's current form since floatbox version 4. I just upgraded to 6.1, thinking that must surely be the problem.

Hardware is a Mac Pro. OS is Yosemite. El Capitan renders the same results.

This is a disaster in my practice. I could use some help beyond changing the doctype declaration.

Thanks,
Larry
Administrator
Hi,

It really is that simple: provide a valid HTML doctype at the beginning of the page, and all browsers will operate in standards mode. If the doctype declaration is syntactically invalid, not present, or buried somewhere down in the HTML document's markup, all browsers will operate in some form of "quirks mode". Floatbox runs only on standards mode pages, and will give the failure message if the page is being rendered in quirks mode.